Skip to content

My opinions on love as formed from being the child of high school sweethearts

By Gabriella Iarrobino

My parents went to prom together.

Several people can make that claim. But how many can make the claim “my parents went to prom together and still like each other”? I have yet to do any extensive research on this question so I really have no idea. All I know is that I certainly can.

My mother met my father when she was 15 and he was 18. Now if I had brought home an 18 year old when I was 15, my mother would have had none of that nonsense. Actually forget about my mother, my grandmother would have called the National Guard. You would expect my father to be the scary one, but that definitely goes to my grandmother. But that is way beside the point.

She may look like a sweet old lady, but she’ll chase any potential suitors down the driveway with a broom. Ask my father.

My parents were each other’s first and only loves. Granted they broke up a grand total of eleven times before finally getting hitched but I suppose those things happen when you get into serious relationships at a young age.

Contrary to what you may think, I do not walk around expecting every relationship to end in marriage. We all have those friends. You know exactly the ones I’m talking about. They are the friends who ask you if their current flame’s last name sounds good with their first name and have been morphing their faces together on that creepy baby generator website.

“I think she really looks like an Amanda.”

Really? Because it looks like something straight out of Prometheus.

This is actually cuter.

I digress. Again.

They have encouraged me not to marry young and often scoff at my friends who are in heavy relationships despite the fact that is exactly what they did. This has given me an interesting perspective on love. While many of my friends’ insecurities get the best of their relationships—to the point where I have to insist several times that no I won’t let you stand on my back for the extra boost to see if he’s really in his buddy’s apartment playing poker—I have more of a “no one is worth that much effort, there’s other fish in the sea” philosophy.  Thanks, Mom!

Vintage relationship stalking.

Finally, my parents’ relationship has lasted so long because of the respect they give each other. My father treats my mother with so much love and respect that you’d think he was still trying to court her. Due to my father being a respectful man, I don’t have any daddy issues. Zero, zilch. Sorry predatory older men. You will never find me with a man who disrespects me. I don’t want no scrubs! You better be able to pay your bills, bills, bills. Okay, that channeling of 90’s girl groups was a little much, even for me.

Sometimes I forget that I’m not actually a member of Destiny’s Child.

What I’ve come to realize is that being the child of high school sweethearts has shaped my opinions on love more than I thought until recently. I seem to think I have my head screwed on pretty straight when it comes to these matters. I guess it’s just a matter of time if I end up happily ever after with prince charming or a lot of dogs. Because let’s be real, I ain’t no cat lady.

Images courtesy of Google and my own iPhoto library (not confessing to which ones are which)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply. Thank You! - Bunny

