Skip to content

For what it’s worth, it was worth all the while. (But a lesson learned in time).

By Gabriella Iarrobino

This weekend my not so little, younger brother is graduating from high school. Today he came home with his senior yearbook, which of course I read out of curiosity.

As I flipped through the pages, I was greeted with dozens of unfamiliar faces, posing in locations that were so familiar to me.

That’s the hallway where that infamous girl fight broke out that ended up in weave flying everywhere!

Oh that’s the bathroom I would walk extra slow to during Calculus!

 In addition to not recognizing students, there were countless new teachers that I did not recognize either. For some reason, a place where I spent five years (8th grade was in the high school, I was not kept back!) of my life was so foreign.

So of course, I was inspired to dust off my yearbook and look at it for the first time in three years. Now I understand three years is not a long time, but to someone who is 21 it is.

Now, let me disclose that I hated high school. I was an awkward misfit who kept more to the books than to what rockin party was going on in the woods that weekend. I wasn’t bullied per se, but I was never treated with the respect that I deserved from the “cool kids.” I was looked down upon as inferior because I studied on the weekends instead of knocking back Natties in some stoner’s basement. Even though my class hasn’t even graduated college yet, I’m already getting the last laugh at those individuals.

However as I started looking at my yearbook, memories came back to me. And they weren’t negative ones! I was utterly shocked. Three years have passed since I walked across the stage, high school diploma in hand. On that day, I swore I would never look back.

In a sense, I never really have. I’ve let go of all the animosity I held in high school and am a much happier person. I have amazing friends and Emerson College has changed my life.

However, I have a newfound sense of maturity when I look back on my high school experience. I finally appreciate it. While I never want to go back, I came in contact with people who impacted me in ways I never realized until this moment. Without my experiences in high school, I honestly do not think I would be where I am today.

High school is such a weird place. At the time it defines you. So much so that a piece of who you were then is always with you. But once you graduate, that definition is gone within a matter of months. Much like all of the promises to “keep in touch” scribbled in the back of your yearbook.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply. Thank You! - Bunny

