Skip to content

Everyone Who Has a Facebook is a Narcissist

By Gabriella Iarrobino

Everyone on Facebook has a touch of narcissism.

Now, put down your pitchforks, I include myself in this as well.

Think about it for a minute. What does your Facebook profile include? Pictures of yourself, things you like, your thoughts on things. I mean when you log on Facebook asks you “What is on your mind?”

If I walked around showing people pictures of my vacation, talking about things I liked and telling everyone my thoughts on things people would label me full of myself. So why when this is put onto a digital platform, this is no longer the case?

Because everyone has a Facebook and everyone is guilty of it.

My newsfeed is clogged with political statements, selfies (pictures that people take of themselves) and comments on people’s walls that could have easily been texted to them instead of broadcast on the Internet for everyone to see. And the people who engage in the most ridiculous Facebook behavior seem the most normal in real life! As soon as they log onto Facebook, they become selfie-taking self-absorbed psychos.

Why?

Because everyone loves themselves. Even self-deprecating posts have touches of narcissism in them. A hypothetical example of this would be someone complaining about how they are ugly but then a picture of them taken on their Macbook Pro would accompany it. Their friends would then comment, “like OMG ur sooooo PRETTY. STOP!”

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go see if anyone commented on my status.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. haha I’m really into this blog. I love facebooking but then I feel guilty about it sometimes. is that weird? … Do they make therapy for this kind of thing?…

    March 29, 2012

Leave a Reply. Thank You! - Bunny

